Due to numerous technical innovations, which are mostly gained through the car racing experience but also from the experience with the production car XK120, it is time to get a successor model to the market after 6 successful years of production. The time has come, 1954 at the London Motor Show at Earls Court, Jaguar presents the XK140.
The result surprised only a few, what should you want to change in terms of looks, the visual effect of the predecessor was part of the success concept. So everything remains unaffected the chassis and the body with the elegant curved sideline. The export, mainly to America, holds even after 6 years and still so corresponds to the desire of the customer for more Chrome, which is very popular in the 50s. Today, many years later, people will say, that this decision was a big admission to the market.
Through the further development of the engine, driven by the Engargement in motorsports, the driver will be pleased with 190 horsepower. The sports version (SE version) is equipped with the new cylinder heads of XK120C short C-Type, which increases the horsepower to 210.
The removal of the battery and the relocation of the engine block about 2,95 inch forward offers more space in the interior. A three-speed Borg-Warner automatic transmission and a Laycock de Normanville Overdrive is also available.
The models remain unchanged. There is still an "Open Two Seater", a "Fixed Head Coupe", and a "Drophead Coupe".

 
 
  • XK140OTSXK140OTS
  • XK140FHCXK140FHC
  • XK140DHCXK140DHC

Aufgrund der vielen technischen Erneuerungen, welche man großteils im Motorsport aber auch aus den Erfahrungen mit den Serienfahrzeug XK120 sammelte, ist es an der Zeit nach 6 erfolgreichen Produktionsjahren ein Nachfolgemodell auf den Markt zu bringen. 1954 auf der Londoner Motor Show am Earls Court, ist es dann soweit, Jaguar präsentiert den XK140.
Das Ergebnis verwundert nur wenige, was will man in puncto Aussehen schon verändern, gerade die Optik gehörte schon beim Vorgänger zum Erfolgskonzept. So bleibt dann auch beim Fahrwerk und der Karosserie mit ihrer elegant geschwungenen Seitenlinie alles beim Alten. Der Export, vor allem nach Amerika, hält auch nach 6 Jahren noch an und so entspricht man dem Wunsch des Kunden auf mehr Chrome, welcher in den 50iger Jahren sehr beliebt ist. Noch heute, viele Jahre später, wird man sagen, war diese Entscheidung ein großes Eingeständnis gegenüber dem Markt.
Durch die Weiterentwicklung des Motors, getrieben vom Engagement im Motorsport, wird der Fahrer nun mit 190 Pferdestärken erfreut. Die Sportausführung (SE Version), wird mit den neuen Zylinderköpfen des XK120C kurz C-Type ausgerüstet, der die Pferdestärken auf 210 erhöht.
Die Auslagerung der Batterie und die Verlegung des Motorblocks um 7,5cm nach vorn bietet im Innenraum zusätzlichen Platz. Ein Dreigang Automatikgetriebe der Firma Borg-Warner sowie ein Laycock de Normanville Overdrive ist nun ebenfalls erhältlich.
Die Modellvarianten bleiben unverändert. Es gibt weiterhin einen "Open Two Seater", ein "Fixed Head Coupé", sowie ein "Drop Head Coupé".

 
 
  • XK140OTSXK140OTS
  • XK140FHCXK140FHC
  • XK140DHCXK140DHC