• Motor Show London 1948

It is the year 1948, the war is over for three years. One of the largest auto shows of the post-war period, the London Motor Show at Earls Court nearing his reopening. The show is scheduled for 27 October. In the automotive forging Jaguar is to be confronted with a dilemma.
The new developed 6-cylinder inline engine XK (X = experimental, K = Model), and the chassis are indeed finished in time, but the body, which is made in order by the Pressed Steel Company, is missing. These three components are part of a new developed and fast saloon, the Jaguar Mark VII. Jaguar expects a better business deal in the saloon segment and would like to introduce the new car on the motor show.

As more and more apparent that the schedule can not be kept they designed a "temporary solution". William Lyons shorten the MK VII chassis about 18 inches, in order to find the correct wheelbase for a sports car. Single-handedly he designed a matching, elegant open two-seater body. Together with Fred Gardner, his man for practical implementation, it transforms them into reality, in the backyard of his factory in Foleshill. Just in time the venture is finished before the fair begins. This temporary solution will be produced in a limited edition of 200 vehicles, once for potential customers of the London Motor Show and second to bridge the time to introduce the new MK VII.

Knowingly, things never turn out the way you expect. The new Roadster beats like a bomb and the orders are so numerous that they exceeds the targeted quantity more than twice, not at least of the good price-performance ratio. They decided to manufacture the Roadster in series. The Jaguar XK120 was born.

  • XK120OTSXK120OTS
  • XK120FHCXK120FHC
  • XK120DHCXK120DHC
  • XK120CXK120C

• Motor Show London 1948

Wir schreiben das Jahr 1948, der Krieg ist seit drei Jahren zu Ende. Eine der größten Automobilmessen der Nachkriegszeit, die Londoner Motor Show am Earls Court, steht kurz vor ihrer Wiedereröffnung. Geplant ist die Show für den 27. Oktober. In der Automobilschmiede Jaguar steht man vor einem Dilemma.
Der neu entwickelte 6 Zylinder Reihenmotor XK sowie das Fahrgestell sind zwar rechtzeitig fertig gestellt worden, jedoch die Karosserie, welche in Auftrag durch die Firma Pressed Steel gefertigt wird, fehlt. Diese drei Hauptkomponenten sind Bestandteil einer  neue entwickelten und schnellen Reiselimousine, dem Mark VII. Jaguar verspricht sich von der Limousinensparte ein besseres Geschäft und möchte den neuen Wagen auf der Motor Show vorstellen.

Als sich immer mehr abzeichnet, dass der Zeitplan nicht gehalten werden kann, entsinnt man eine Notlösung. William Lyons lässt das fertige Fahrgestell des MK VII um 18 Inch kürzen, um für einen Sportwagen den richtigen Radabstand zu erreichen. In Eigenregie designed er eine passende, elegante offene Zweisitzer Karosserie. Diese setzt er zusammen mit Fred Gardner, seinen Mann für die praktische Umsetzung, im hinteren Bereich seines Werkes in Foleshill in die Realität um. Nur beängstigend knapp wird das Wagnis vor der Messe fertig gestellt. Diese Notlösung soll in einer kleinen Auflage von ca. 200 Fahrzeugen produziert werden, um mögliche Kunden der Londoner Motor Show zu bedienen und die Zeit zur Einführung des neuen MK VII zu überbrücken.

Bekanntlich kommt es jedoch immer anders als man denkt. Der neue Roadster schlägt ein wie eine Bombe und die Bestellungen sind so zahlreich, dass sie die angepeilte Stückzahl um mehr als das Doppelte übersteigt, nicht zuletzt wegen des guten Preis-Leistungsverhältnisses. Daraufhin wird beschlossen den Roadster in Serie zu fertigen. Der Jaguar XK120 ist geboren.

  • XK120OTSXK120OTS
  • XK120FHCXK120FHC
  • XK120DHCXK120DHC
  • XK120CXK120C